Forums » Relationships / Advice

Confused and a little scared

• 1 posts
    July 23, 2017 6:00 AM BST

I've never written to anything like this before, so I'm sorry if I do it wrong. I have kind of a long story and need some advice, and I don't really know where to go.

I'm 21 years old, and when I was 12 my cousin forced me to have sex with him. It took me 4 years to tell anyone. I dropped all my friends and only wanted to be alone. When I told my parents, they didn't believe me. About a year after I told my parents, my cousin overdosed and died. Then they beleived me, but there wasn't anything to do about it then.

So, when I was 19, there was this boy who kept asking me to go out with him. We had two classes together at college. I said no a lot, but eventually he wore me down and I said yes. We were together for about a year and a half, and he kept trying to get me to have sex with him, but I just couldn't do it. I loved him, and I wanted to... I just couldn't.

Well, eventually we did. I started taking birth control pills two months before we did, and honestly. I didn't like it. But the worst part was the next morning, when I got a text from him breaking up with me. I'd spent years hiding my feelings, and I did my best to hold my head up high and go to work.

I work as a receptionist in a dentist office. I've never been friendly with any of the coworkers, I just go and do my job so I can make money. But honeslty, if my parents didn't make me, I'd just lock myself in my room. I don't want to deal with people. And yes, a receptionist is probably not a great choice.

Anyway, the day he breaks up with me I'm trying to act normal, but one of the assistants asks me whats wrong. And I wanted to just say "nothing" but I just blurted out "my boyfriend broke up with me" and I think I cried a little, I don't remember because I was mad at myself for saying anything at all